NewCem®

 

Slag Cement

Lafarge NewCem® is a supplementary cementitious material (SCM). It can be used in tested quantities to enhance the desired properties of concrete.

Slag

Slag is produced during the iron-manufacturing process. During the manufacturing process the materials are heated in a blast furnace to a molten state. The slag rises to the top and is separated from the iron for further processing. When slag is separated from iron and rapidly cooled with water (granulated), the morphology of the slag changes. This morphology change provides the slag with its cementitious properties. The granulated slag is then ground to a controlled fineness, typically greater than that of GU portland cement, and the finished product, called ground granulated blast furnace slag (GGBFS) is ready for shipment to our customers. 

The NewCem® Slag Cement Advantage

To produce quality slag, a producer needs to have slag with an ideal chemistry from a consistent source and needs to have equipment close to the slag source to provide rapid quenching of the slag. Lafarge engineers and scientists have led North America in the research and development of specifications for slag. Today, Lafarge’s knowledge and technical experience is unequaled by any other producer of GGBFS. Lafarge’s technical staff is available to ready-mixed concrete producers, engineers and specifiers for questions about the proper use of NewCem® in any application.

Lafarge NewCem® has:

  • High strength
  • Long-term durability
  • Decreased permeability
  • Increased resistance to alkali silica reaction and sulfate attack

NewCem® provides a significant contribution to sustainable construction due to the high replacement rates possible. Its use in concrete production consumes less energy and offers improved efficiency and building performance. NewCem® can contribute to the achievement of LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) points.

Product claims are based on proper use in accordance with recognized industry standards. Please contact your Lafarge Cement representative for specific product information, availability, and ordering.

 

Downloads

Coming Soon

NewCemMD

NewCemMD
 

Ciment de laitier

Le NewCemMD de Lafarge est un ajout cimentaire. Il peut être utilisé en quantité déterminée pour améliorer les propriétés désirées du béton.

Laitier

Le laitier est un sous-produit de la fabrication du fer. Au cours du procédé de fabrication, les matériaux sont chauffés dans un haut fourneau jusqu’à l’état fondu. Le laitier remonte alors à la surface et est enlevé en vue d’un traitement ultérieur. Une fois le laitier séparé du fer et refroidi à l’eau (granulé), sa morphologie change. C’est cette modification qui donne au laitier ses propriétés cimentaires. Le laitier granulé est ensuite broyé jusqu’à la finesse voulue, généralement moins fin que le ciment Portland GU, et le produit fini, appelé laitier de haut fourneau granulé et broyé peut être livré aux clients.

Avantages du ciment de laitier NewCemMD

Pour obtenir un laitier de qualité, il faut avoir, de façon constante, un produit dont la chimie est parfaite et l’équipement approprié à proximité de la source de laitier afin de pouvoir le refroidir rapidement. Les ingénieurs et les chercheurs de Lafarge sont à l’origine des grandes avancées dans la recherche et le développement des propriétés du laitier en Amérique du Nord. À ce jour, aucun producteur de laitiers de haut fourneau granulés et broyés ne peut prétendre avoir les connaissances ou l’expérience de Lafarge. Le personnel technique de Lafarge est à la disposition des producteurs de béton préfabriqué, des ingénieurs et des rédacteurs de devis pour répondre à toutes les questions concernant l’utilisation du NewCemMD.

Le NewCemMD de Lafarge offre :

  • Résistance élevée
  • Durabilité
  • Perméabilité réduite
  • Résistance accrue aux réactions alcalis-granulats et aux attaques des sulfates

Le NewCemMD contribue grandement à la construction durable en raison du taux de remplacement élevé. Son utilisation dans la fabrication du béton permet de réduire la consommation d’énergie en plus d’améliorer l’efficacité et les performances des bâtiments. Les ciments composés peuvent aider à l’obtention de points LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design).

Les affirmations concernant les produits reposent sur une utilisation appropriée conforme aux normes de l’industrie reconnues. Veuillez communiquer avec votre représentant Lafarge pour des renseignements concernant les produits, la disponibilité et les commandes.

 

Téléchargements

À venir