Lafarge Canada named as one of 'Canada's Top Employers for Young People' for 2021

01.22.2021
 
JANUARY 22, 2021 - MISSISSAUGA, ON - We are pleased to announce that once again this year, MediaCorp Canada Inc. has named us as one of Canada’s Top Employers for Young People—a recognition that speaks to our commitment to foster a workplace where growth, learning and development are key components of our Employee Value Proposition.
 
“This is a big achievement,” says David Redfern, CEO, Eastern Canada. “Cultivating an entrepreneurial mindset in our young talent is at the core of our Lafarge Leadership Development Program; one of the reasons why we've been named one of Canada's Top Employers for Young People. Receiving this award is a testament to that, and illustrates our ongoing commitment to developing our people.”
 
Brad Kohl, CEO, Western Canada, continues: “With our priority of building sustainably across all of Canada, the ideas and contributions of new innovators are essential. We're proud of our culture that welcomes young people, and we are even more proud of their solutions and creativity as we see our industry change and grow."
 
Some of the reasons why we have won include:
 
  • Co-op placements and internship opportunities are available in a number of Lafarge Canada's business areas, including concrete, aggregates, pipe, asphalt, environment and finance (to name a few) -- placements range from four months to 12 months in duration and may include a living allowance, rent-free accommodations and airfare to and from school, depending on the location.
  • Lafarge Canada cultivates future talent for leadership positions through the Lafarge Leadership Development Program, which recently expanded to accept new graduates from across the country -- the 24-month program (with a commitment of ensuring that 50 percent of its participants are female) consists of rotations through several aspects of the business

For more information on why we’ve been selected, visit this page. The full list of 2021 winners is available on Canada’s Top Employers website, and more information can also be found in the press release issued by MediaCorp Inc. Canada earlier this week. 

At Lafarge Canada, we share an entrepreneurial spirit that helps each of us shape our path forward and seek out the learning and development opportunities that work for us.  If joining a dynamic workplace is what you are looking for, visit the careers section of our website!  
 
About the Competition
 
Now in its 19th year, Canada's Top Employers for Young People is an editorial competition that recognizes employers offering the nation's best workplaces and programs for young people starting their careers. Winners of the competition are chosen by the editorial team at the Canada's Top Employers project on the basis of the programs and initiatives they offer to attract and retain younger workers. These include benefits such as tuition assistance and co-op or work-study programs. The editors also examine each employer's mentorship and training programs, including benefits such as bonuses paid on completing trades or professional designations. The editors also review each employer's career management program, looking for initiatives that help younger workers advance faster in the organization.
 
About MediaCorp and Eluta
 
Founded in 1992, Mediacorp Canada Inc. is the nation's largest publisher of employment periodicals. Since 1999, the Toronto-based publisher has managed the Canada's Top 100 Employers project, which includes 18 regional and special-interest editorial competitions that reach over 15 million Canadians annually through a variety of magazine and newspaper partners. Mediacorp also operates Eluta.ca, one of Canada's largest job search engines, which reaches millions of unique visitors annually and features editorial reviews from the Canada's Top 100 Employers project. The company also publishes The Career Directory, now in its 28th year – a free online guide for recent college and university graduates looking for employers hiring candidates from their educational background.
 
About Lafarge Canada Inc.
 
Lafarge is Canada’s largest provider of sustainable construction materials and a member of the global group, LafargeHolcim. With 6,000 employees and 350 sites across Canada, our mission is to provide construction solutions that build better and more sustainable cities and communities. The cities where Canadians live, work and raise their families along with the community’s infrastructure benefit from the solutions provided by Lafarge consisting of aggregates, asphalt and paving, cement, precast concrete, ready-mix concrete, and road construction. www.lafarge.ca
 
Contacts
 
Jessica Assaf
Communications Manager, Eastern Canada
Jessica.assaf@lafargeholcim.com
 
Jill Truscott
Communications Manager, Western Canada
Jill.Truscott@lafargeholcim.com

Lafarge Canada named as one of 'Canada's Top Employers for Young People' for 2021

22.01.2021
 
Mississauga, le 22 janvier 2021 - Nous sommes heureux d'annoncer que MediaCorp Canada Inc. nous a une fois de plus désignés comme l'un des meilleurs employeurs pour les jeunes au Canada - une reconnaissance qui témoigne de notre engagement à favoriser un milieu de travail où la croissance, la formation et le développement sont des éléments clés de notre proposition de valeur pour les employés.
 
"C'est une grande réussite", déclare David Redfern, PDG de l'Est du Canada. "Cultiver l'esprit d'entreprise chez nos jeunes talents est au cœur de notre programme de développement des diplômés, qui représente l'une des raisons pour lesquelles nous avons été sélectionnés. Le fait de recevoir ce prix en témoigne et illustre notre engagement continu à développer nos gens".
 
Brad Kohl, PDG, Ouest du Canada, poursuit : "Notre priorité étant de construire de manière durable dans tout le Canada, les idées et les contributions des nouveaux innovateurs sont essentielles. Nous sommes fiers de notre culture qui accueille les jeunes, et nous sommes encore plus fiers de leurs solutions et de leur créativité alors que nous voyons notre industrie changer et se développer".
 
Voici quelques-unes des raisons pour lesquelles nous avons gagné :
  • Des opportunités de coopératives et de stages sont disponibles dans plusieurs secteurs d'activité de Lafarge Canada, notamment le béton, les granulats, les tuyaux, l'asphalte, l'environnement et les finances (pour n'en citer que quelques-uns). Les stages durent de quatre à douze mois et peuvent inclure une allocation pour les frais de subsistance, un logement avec loyer payé et un billet d'avion pour se rendre à l'école et en revenir, selon l'endroit.
  • Lafarge Canada développe les futurs talents pour les postes de direction grâce à leur programme de développement des diplômés, qui a récemment été élargi pour accepter de nouveaux diplômés de tout le pays. Ce programme de 24 mois (avec un engagement de veiller à ce que 50 % des participants soient des femmes) consiste en des formations dans plusieurs aspects de l'entreprise.
Pour plus d'informations sur les raisons de notre sélection, visitez cette page*. La liste complète des gagnants de 2021 est disponible sur le site web des Meilleurs Employeurs du Canada*, et vous trouverez également plus d'informations dans le communiqué de presse publié par MediaCorp Inc. Canada* en début de semaine.
*Ces liens ne sont disponibles qu’en anglais. 
 
Chez Lafarge Canada, nous utilisons notre esprit entrepreneurial pour construire l’avenir ensemble et trouver les opportunités de développement qui nous correspondent. Si vous cherchez à rejoindre un milieu de travail dynamique, visitez la section carrières de notre site web!
 
À propos du concours
 
Le concours des meilleurs employeurs pour les jeunes du Canada, qui en est à sa 19e édition, récompense les employeurs qui offrent les meilleurs lieux de travail et programmes du pays aux jeunes qui débutent leur carrière. Les gagnants du concours sont choisis par l'équipe éditoriale du projet Canada's Top Employers sur la base des programmes et initiatives qu'ils proposent pour attirer et retenir les jeunes travailleurs. Ces programmes comprennent des avantages tels que l'aide aux frais de scolarité et des programmes d'enseignement coopératif ou d'alternance travail-études. Les rédacteurs examinent également les programmes de mentorat et de formation de chaque employeur, y compris les avantages tels que les primes versées pour l'exercice d'un métier ou l'obtention d'un titre professionnel. Les rédacteurs examinent également le programme de gestion de carrière de chaque employeur, à la recherche d'initiatives qui aident les jeunes travailleurs à progresser plus rapidement dans l'entreprise.
 
À propos de MediaCorp Canada Inc. et d'Eluta
 
Fondée en 1992, Mediacorp Canada Inc. est le plus grand éditeur de périodiques d'emploi du pays. Depuis 1999, l'éditeur basé à Toronto gère le projet des 100 meilleurs employeurs du Canada, qui comprend 18 concours éditoriaux régionaux et spécialisés qui touchent plus de 15 millions de Canadiens chaque année par le biais de divers partenaires de magazines et de journaux. Mediacorp exploite également Eluta.ca, l'un des plus grands moteurs de recherche d'emploi au Canada, qui touche des millions de visiteurs uniques chaque année et présente des critiques éditoriales du projet des 100 meilleurs employeurs au Canada. L'entreprise publie également The Career Directory, qui en est à sa 28e année d'existence - un guide en ligne gratuit destiné aux récents diplômés de collèges et d'universités à la recherche d'employeurs embauchant des candidats issus de leur formation.
 
À propos de Lafarge Canada Inc.
 
Lafarge est le plus grand fournisseur canadien de matériaux de construction durables et fait partie du groupe mondial LafargeHolcim. Avec 6 000 employés et 350 sites au Canada, notre mission est de fournir des solutions de construction qui permettent de bâtir des villes et des communautés meilleures et plus durables. Les villes où les Canadiens vivent, travaillent et élèvent leur famille ainsi que les infrastructures de la communauté bénéficient des solutions fournies par Lafarge, qui consistent en agrégats, asphalte et pavage, ciment, béton préfabriqué, béton prêt à l'emploi et construction de routes. www.lafarge.ca
 
Renseignements
 
Jessica Assaf
Chef de service, Communications d’entreprise, Lafarge Est du Canada
jessica.assaf@lafargeholcim.com
 
Jill Truscott
Chef de service, Communications d’entreprise, Lafarge Ouest du Canada
jill.truscott@lafargeholcim.com